关于先行投资管理

2017年,一群对影响力投资充满热情的创业者和金融专业人士创建了先行投资管理有限公司。公司创始成员、员工和顾问拥有丰富的管理经验,与来自世界各地的合作伙伴共同支持先行的发展。

自成立以来,我们已经成为联合国支持的《负责任投资原则》(PRI)和国际金融公司支持的《影响力管理运作原则》(OPIM)的签署方,加入全球影响力投资网络(GIIN),获得共益企业(B Corp)认证。 为了进一步强化我们在影响力投资方面的代表性,我们积极主动地与专业组织和学术机构接触,合作开展研究项目,定期在行业会议上发言, 并就影响力投资、ESG和可持续发展等议题发表文章。

 

愿景

先行开展影响力投资,并进行相关研究。我们的愿景是,通过参与影响力投资,让我们的世界变得更好,并成为全球影响力投资领域的领军者。我们投资于能够产生积极社会影响力,且能创造财务收益的传统和创新型项目。

使命

我们的使命是投资那些为世界带来有意义的变化,同时也为投资者带来经济收益的企业和基金。我们的业务条线包括:直投私营企业,和管理以影响力投资为主题的FOF。我们也通过长期合作,培养战略投资机会,与其他机构投资者和普通合伙人开展共同投资。

核心价值观

我们践行核心价值观,以此指导投资理念、商业行为以及与利益相关方的合作关系。

CARING 大愛于始

始于关爱

  • 我们关心正义的驱动,和世界正发生的范式转变。
  • 我们的目标是,以影响力投资来满足需求,改善生活质量,推动经济的可持续发展。

RELIABILITY 可靠于知

对合作伙伴和其他利益相关方负责

  • 我们时刻保持警惕,确保以符合道德规范、公平、一致和负责的方式,与利益相关方开展合作。
  • 我们的目标是,以可靠和互信为基础,与合作伙伴建立起稳固而持久的合作关系。

DILIGENCE 勤勉于行

INNOVATION 創新于民

力求卓越

对合作伙伴和其他利益相关方负责

  • 从遴选到结束的每一步,我们严格执行影响力投资程序,并与利益相关方紧密合作。
  • 通过在早期阶段与创业者合作,我们塑造、发展和投资于他们的企业,创造影响力投资机会。
  • 我们渴望成为先锋力量,通过多方参与和积极行动,拥抱变革性的主题。
  • 在未知领域,我们探索新技术和商业主题,始终以开放的心态发掘投资机会。

管理团队

我们的管理团队负责管理投资项目,并参与公司运营。投资委员会、风险管理委员会、运营委员会分别由不同的管理合伙人担任主席,确保职责分工妥善。

IMG_3853-compressed

陈钦若

金融风险管理师

  创始人兼首席执行官

陈钦若(Catherine)女士 是成功的影响力投资者、创业家及绿色金融倡导者和领军人。她创立了香港先行集团,业务覆盖中国、中国香港、加拿大和新加坡,专注于影响力投资并为各国政府、非营利组织、专业投资者提供影响力投资的多边策略方案。钦若的投资逻辑自上而下,从宏观国际局势入手国际去碳路径、并制定符合国际议题导向的投资策略。她的投资领域涉及多个主题,从智慧社区和乡村、人工智能在ESG领域的应用,到城市发展规划和基础设施能源转型、及其它创造经济和社会长期价值的项目。钦若与亚洲区绿色金融发展的工作紧密合作。目前,钦若在世界银行主导的国际金融公司推广的影响力投资管理原则下担任亚洲区域委员。钦若还是中国光彩事业的青年领袖、并积极促成中国的能源效益、气候变暖、碳中和议题的推动和发展,钦若非常热衷与公共和私有机构建立多边合作关系。

在创立先行集团之前,钦若负责由中国主导的“一带一路”项目名录中相关项目的审核、研究、管理。

2021年初,钦若成为中国影响力投资网络的创始成员。在香港,钦若是年度指标基金奖的评审成员、并推动和制定了指标基金奖绿色基金奖项的创立、鉴定和评选。钦若与中国日报亞太分社合作共同宣传碳中和和影响力投资的议题。钦若还是播客“墙裂坛“的常驻嘉宾,积极向大众宣传ESG和碳中和行业的趋势。

钦若毕业于英国伦敦大学学院,主修经济学和统计学硕士学位,并拥有加拿大多伦多大学的工商管理硕士学位。目前钦若还在英国国王学院攻读国际关系学硕士,对气候危机与国际政策进行研究。钦若对文化艺术有所造诣,积极少数族裔和非遗文化。她还是香港柬埔寨进步协会的董事。

Ron Chiong

张世龙

特许另类投资分析师、特许金融分析师、金融风险管理师、职业风险管理师

  管理合伙人

张世龙先生于2018年加入先行,在香港担任管理合伙人,专注于投资组合管理和投资研究。2020年,他被委任建立新加坡分公司并担任其负责人,以拓展先行在东南亚的业务。作为一名接受过专业训练的工程师,他关注影响力投资的技术相关领域,尤其对将空间技术和数据分析应用于智慧城市的设计和管理以及实现联合国可持续发展目标感兴趣。他还管理着自己家族企业的投资组合,投资于科技行业的私募股权和股票。

张世龙先生此前曾在香港证券及期货事务监察委员会工作,负责金融科技和加密货币资产的政策制定和监管。在此之前,他曾在渣打银行、法国巴黎银行、韩国银行、野村证券和安联/德累斯顿银行等多家金融机构担任高级衍生品交易和投资组合管理职务。

张世龙先生拥有多伦多大学的工程学学位和西安大略大学的 MBA 学位。他目前正在约翰霍普金斯大学攻读空间系统工程硕士学位。他还提供咨询服务,进一步丰富自己在亚洲具良好发展潜力地区的职业经验。他是总部设在瑞士的分布式金融平台 Smart Valor的咨询委员会成员,也是美国太空技术风险投资公司SpaceFund的亚洲事务特别顾问。

张世龙先生致力于香港科技生态圈的发展。他是创星汇(香港)有限公司的特许会员,担任对空间投资感兴趣的青年专业人士的导师。

Joseph pic 2021 cropped

梁子荣

特许另类投资分析师、特许金融分析师、注册法务会计师

  管理合伙人

梁子荣于2017年加入先行,担任管理合伙人,负责香港的投资业务。他是香港投资委员会成员及先行的执行董事。出生于香港的一个普通家庭,始终心系那些服务缺失的弱势社区,曾担任扶轮社主席,由此开始了影响投资之路。他具有企业家精神,在高中时期创办了自己的第一家 IT 初创企业。他在信息技术和投资领域有着丰富的经验,主要致力于信息技术、医疗保健、可持续食品和金融技术方面的影响力投资。作为影响力投资的领军人物,他还协助相关投资组合基金设计用于影响力评估和报告的 KPI 和指标。

梁子荣先生曾在香港的多家持牌公司、上市公司和一家专注于投资管理的家族企业工作,也曾为投资于医疗、房地产和信息技术的私募股权基金工作。在进入投资领域前,第一份工作是在德勤担任房地产审计师,后又在一家酒店业的上市前公司担任财务主管。

梁子荣先生在香港科技大学取得了会计和金融专业的工商管理学士学位。他亦在母校及香港特许金融分析师协会担任义务导师。同时,他还是上市公司——现代中药集团(1643.HK)的独立非执行董事。

Ivan profile Photo

Ivan Heng

  副总监

Ivan于2021年10月加入先行,担任投资者关系管理和业务拓展的副总监。他目前正努力拓展先行在新加坡的业务,通过更丰富的公司产品来吸引潜在客户,特别是新加坡的客户,并与新加坡开展影响力投资的实体建立伙伴关系。

Ivan拥有6年以上的银行及资产管理工作经验。他在花旗银行工作了4年,担任各种资产类别和产品的产品专家。他积极参与企业ESG倡议倡议,包括推广绿色银行业务的无纸化流程,组织全球社区日和国际妇女节等全公司范围的活动。在利安资金管理公司,他参与了新基金的发行,包括一支ESG主题房地产基金,旨在鼓励投资者投资于更具可持续性的未来。他还就怎样把 ESG要素/考量因素纳入整个投资流程为客户提供建议,并使用相关的、可量化的、可测量的指标来反映投资带来的积极影响。

Ivan一直致力于在环保科技领域进行投资,包括物联网集成、碳中和、可持续城市以及电动车等。闲暇之余,他在新加坡地球观测研究所(Earth Observatory of Singapore)担任志愿者,该研究所是一个研究东南亚的地震、火山爆发、海啸和气候变化的智库,致力于帮助建立更安全和更可持续的社会。Ivan毕业于新加坡国立大学,拥有金融和供应链运营的双学位。他还通过了CFA二级考试。

顾问

Alex Nicholls

Alex Nicholls

英国牛津大学社会企业学教授

Alex Nicholls教授是英国牛津大学第一位社会企业学的终身教授,于2004年获委任为牛津大学斯科尔社会创业中心(Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship)的首位职员。他的学术研究课题涵盖社会创新和创业的多个领域,包括:社会及影响力投资;会计、问责和治理之关系;公共及社会政策环境;以及公平贸易。

迄今,Alex已出版了超过90篇学术论文、工作稿、书目和六本书。大部分都发表在同行评审的期刊和书籍中,其中有五篇论文刊登在《金融时报》评选的“期刊三十强”之中。他亦是斯科尔工作论文系列的总编辑及《社会企业家期刊》( the Journal of Social Entrepreneurship)的编辑。

Alex Nicholls曾于多间大学任教,包括:加拿大多伦多大学、英国利兹都会大学、萨里大学、阿斯顿商学院和牛津大学。他也是英格兰东南地区社会企业专家小组的成员,并且是ESRC社会企业能力建设小组(Social Enterprise Capacity Building Cluster)的咨询小组成员。他是伯明翰大学第三部门研究中心(Third Sector Research Centre at the University of Birmingham)的荣誉研究员和新南威尔士大学社会影响力中心(the Centre for Social Impact, University of New South Wales)的研究员。他目前还是几家社会企业的董事会成员。

Alex在伦敦国王学院获得英语语言文学学士(荣誉)、硕士和博士学位,在牛津大学获得牛津大学玛格莉特夫人学堂工商管理硕士学位。

Richard Nesbitt

多伦多大学罗特曼管理学院教授

Richard Nesbitt先生是多伦多大学罗特曼管理学院的兼职教授,也是该大学心智、大脑、行为蜂巢研究中心(Mind Brain Behavior Hive)咨询委员会的主席。Richard目前在英国伦敦工作,他与伦敦政治与经济学院合作创建了一个新的研究机构,即伦敦政经学院的包容性倡议(The Inclusion Initiative at LSE),旨在提升行业的多样性和包容性。

Richard最近结束了他在金融服务全球风险研究所(Global Risk Institute in Financial Services)首席执行官的任期,该研究所正在建设一个全球公认的新兴风险管理研究机构。

Richard曾任加拿大帝国商业银行(CIBC)的首席运营官,直到2014年9月退休。他于2008年加入CIBC,此前他在证券业有超过20年的从业经历,其中包括1987年至1997年在CIBC -汇达证券任职。2004年至2008年期间,Richard担任多伦多证券交易所的首席执行官,他于2001年加入多伦多证券交易所,时任市场部总监。

Richard在多家企业和多个社区委员会任职,于2014年被资本市场女性(Women in Capital Markets)组织授予“远见奖”(Visionary Award)。他还因其社区服务获得了伊丽莎白女王二世钻禧纪念奖章(Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal),凭借在多伦多大学的优秀工作获得了多伦多大学的阿伯尔奖(Arbor Award)以及罗特曼管理学院颁发的2019年终身成就奖(2019 Lifetime Achievement Award)。

2017年,Richard(与Barbara Annis)出版了一本名为《高层结果》(Results at the Top)的书,介绍了男性对改善其所在组织性别多样性的责任(Wiley 2017)。他(与Michael King合著)的新书《金融服务中的技术创新》(Technological Innovation in Financial Services)将于2020年初面世(UTP 2020)。

Richard是西安大略大学艾维商学院的荣誉文学学士毕业生,拥有多伦多大学罗特曼管理学院的MBA和伦敦政治与经济学院的硕士学位。

Maud Savary-Mornet

BEYONG FINANCE CONSULTING财务管理咨询公司创始人兼首席执行官

Maud通过加强影响力投资社群建设和与东南亚机构投资者建立联系,支持GIIN的发展。她在影响力投资、国际发展以及私营和公共部门领域拥有超过25年的经验。

Maud有12年在新兴国家开展ESG 和影响投资的经验。她成功为responsAbility这一亚太地区领先的ESG资产管理和影响力投资公司实现了增长。她带领私募债权投资团队在普惠金融和气候融资领域深耕了8年,之后升任亚太地区总监,领导香港、孟买和曼谷团队。她对中小企业银行和小额信贷机构进行了100多次尽职调查,完成了多项交易,并在多个亚洲国家开放投资,从印度尼西亚和中国到太平洋岛国萨摩亚。她还在亚太地区建立了影响力投资者网络,关注私募债权和私募股权以及资本市场解决方案。

Maud最初在法国中央银行(French Central Bank)担任中小型企业及大型企业财务评级分析师,其后被借调至法国银行业监察委员会(French Banking Commission),负责制定及商讨银行业规例,并被派驻香港的法国贸易委员会(French Trade Commission in Hong Kong)。

Maud是性别视角投资的坚定支持者。她领导开展了responsAbility性别多样化倡议活动,并深入参与亚太区域性别债券倡议项目。

莫德是法国和澳大利亚公民,1991年毕业于巴黎政治学院,主修经济和金融。她的一大个人目标就是对可持续金融保持开放态度。她经常受邀在会议上发言,还发表了多篇关于小额信贷、影响投资和ESG的文章。同时,她还担任多家公司、网络和非政府组织的顾问和董事会成员,包括加利福尼亚州的 Alygne 公司和香港的法国外贸顾问组织(French Foreign Trade Advisors)。

 

 

Bénédicte Nolens

Head of Regulatory Affairs for Asia and Europe & CCO for Asia, Circle

Bénédicte is the Head of Regulatory Affairs for Asia and Europe & CCO for Asia for Circle, a Board Member of the Hong Kong Fintech Association and a Member of the Global Digital Finance Advisory Council. From 2012 to 2018 she was the Head of Risk and Strategy of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, from 2007 to 2012 she was a Managing Director at Credit Suisse, and before that she was an Executive Director at Goldman Sachs. She holds an LLM and MBA from the University of Chicago. In 2016 she was a recipient of the China Daily Asian Women Leadership Awards for people who are dedicated to entrepreneurialism, innovation and change.

About AvantFaire

AvantFaire was founded in 2017 by a group of entrepreneurs and finance professionals, who are passionate about impact investment. The founding group, its associates and the advisors support us with management experience and business relationships with various partners in the world.

Since our inception, we have become a signatory to the United Nations-supported Principles of Responsible Investment (PRI) and the International Finance Corporation-supported Operating Principles for Impact Management (OPIM), a member of the Global Impact Investing Network (GIIN), and a certified B Corporation (B Corp). To further strengthen our identity in impact investment, we proactively approach professional organizations and academic institutions for joint research projects, speak regularly in industry conferences and publish articles on impact investment, ESG and sustainability topics.

 

Vision

AvantFaire invests and conducts research in impact investing. Our vision is to better the world by making impact investments and become a global leader in this field. We invest in both traditional and innovative businesses that deliver positive social impact as well as financial return.

Mission

Our mission is to invest in companies and funds which bring meaningful changes to the world and economic benefits to our investors. Our main business lines include making direct investments in private companies and managing funds of funds with themes in impact investing. We also engage in long-term partnerships to nurture strategic investment opportunities and to co-invest with other institutional investors and general partners.

Core Values

We live our core values whice guide our investment philosophy, business conduct, and relationships with our stakeholders.

CARING 大愛于始

Motivated by caring

  • We care about righteous intention and paradigm shift in the world.
  • We aim to address the needs of peop;e, improve quality of living anf drive sustainable economic growth by making impact investments.

RELIABILITY 可靠于知

Accountable to partners and other stakeholders

  • We act vigilantly to ensure our collaborations with stakeholders are ethical, fair, consistent and accountable.
  • We aim to build solid and long-term relationshops with our partners throught our credibility and mutual trust.

DILIGENCE 勤勉于行

INNOVATION 創新于民

Striving for excellence

Accountable to partners and other stakeholders

  • We implement our impact investment process diligently from  sourcing to closing of deals and engage closely with our stakeholders.
  • We create impact investment opportunities by working with entrepreneurs in early stage to shape, develop and invest in their businesses.
  • We strive to be a pioneer of trends and embrace game-changing themes by multi-faceted engagement and active participation in them.
  • We explore new technologies and business themes in uncharted areas, and keep an open mind to identify investment opportunities.

Management Team

Our management team is responsible for managing investment and operating our company. The Investment Committee, Risk Management Committee, Operating Committee are chaired by different managing partners to ensure proper segregation of duties.

IMG_3853-compressed

Catherine Chen

FRM

  Founder and CEO  

Catherine is a seasoned impact investor, a serial entrepreneur and a public policy advocate for impact investment, carbon neutrality and Sustainable Development Goals. She founded the AvantFaire Group companies with a strong Asia presence in China, Hong Kong SAR and Singapore focusing on impact investing and providing impact solutions and strategic advice to asset owners. Her investment style is top down and oriented towards secular trends including decarbonization, technology applications in ESG and green businesses. Catherine’s investment experiences span across smart buildings and design, AI applications in ESG, city and community planning and infrastructure transitions, to sustainable supply chains in the food and fashion industry. Catherine is also well connected to regional sustainability development councils in the Greater China Region and Southeast Asian countries. She is active in advocacy concerning environmentally efficient smart communities and villages, common prosperities for the middle class, and is keen on building multilateral collaboration with both public and private sectors. Catherine also works with China Daily to host a series of seminars on impact investment and carbon neutrality.

Prior to the establishment of AvantFaire, Catherine helped run her family business in Asia and managed various projects on the Belt and Road Initiative. She built a strong and broad network with many countries’ trade commissions, local champion enterprises and culture bureaus.

Apart from her work commitment to sustainability, Catherine holds several social positions to promote ESG in Asia. In Hong Kong, Catherine is the chair of the Education Committee in Women in Finance Asia, and the annual juror for the BENCHMARK Awards for mutual funds and unit trusts. In China, Catherine is a founding member of the China Impact Investment Network. Catherine is also a frequent speaker in ESG at the Wall Breaker – a Chinese podcast focusing on key opinion leaders in finance and banking industry. Catherine has been selected as one of the 100 Women in Finance since 2020.

Catherine graduated from University College London with majors in economics and statistics and holds an MBA from the University of Toronto. She is keen on continuous education and is currently studying a master’s degree in international relationship in King’s College London and concurrently a graduate program in Chinese medicine in the University of Hong Kong. Catherine also promotes minority and endangered art and culture in various countries. She is currently the director of Hong Kong – Cambodia Advancement Association.

Ron Chiong

Ron Chiong

CAIA, CFA, FRM, PRM

  Managing Partner

Ron joined AvantFaire in 2018 as a managing partner in Hong Kong focusing on portfolio management and investment research. He was appointed to establish and head the Singapore branch office in 2020 to enhance the coverage of AvantFaire in South East Asia.  As an engineer by training, Ron is keen on the technology aspect in impact investment, with particular interest in the application of space technology and data analytics to the design and management of smart cities and meeting UN Sustainable Development Goals. He also manages his family office portfolio which invests in private equities and stocks in the technology sector.

Ron previously worked for the Securities and Futures Commission in Hong Kong and was responsible for policy development and regulation in financial technology and crypto assets. Prior to his regulatory role, Ron held senior derivatives trading and portfolio management positions in various financial institutions including Standard Chartered, BNP Paribas, KBC, Nomura and Allianz/Dresdner.

Ron has engineering degrees from the University of Toronto and an MBA from the University of Western Ontario. He is currently studying space system engineering in a master’s degree program at the Johns Hopkins University. Ron also takes on advisory roles to further his professional engagement in areas with good development potentials in Asia. He is a member of the advisory board at Smart Valor which is a decentralized finance platform based in Switzerland, and a special advisor for Asian affairs to SpaceFund which is a space technology venture capital company in the U.S.

Ron is passionate about the development of the technology ecosystem in Hong Kong. He is a chartered member of the Orion Astropreneur Space Academy and acts as a mentor to young professionals interested in space investment.

Joseph pic 2021 cropped

Joseph Leung​​

CAIA, CFA, FCPA

  Managing Partner

Joseph joined AvantFaire in 2017 as a managing partner in charge of investment operations in Hong Kong. He is a member of the investment committee in Hong Kong and the executive director of the Company. Born in an ordinary family in Hong Kong, Joseph has planted the root to help the underserved community and had served as the president in Rotaract, and embarked on the path to impact investment. He also has an entrepreneurial  mindset and started his first IT start-up during his high-school times. With extensive experience in both IT and investment, Joseph focuses mainly on impact investments concerning information technology, healthcare, sustainability food, and financial technology. As a leader of impact investment, he also helps underlying portfolio funds to design KPIs and metrics for impact measurement and reporting.

Joseph previously worked for several licensed corporations, listed companies and a family office in Hong Kong focusing on investment management, and also private equity funds investing in health care, real estate, and information technology. Before his investment role, Joseph started his career in Deloitte as an auditor focusing on real estate and as a financial controller in a pre-IPO company in hospitality industry.

Joseph has a BBA degree in Accounting and Finance from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He also takes on voluntary roles as a mentor in his Alma Mater and the CFA Society Hong Kong. He sits on the board of the listed company – Modern Chinese Medicine Group Co., Ltd. (1643.HK) as an independent non-executive director.

Ivan profile Photo

Ivan Heng

  Associate Director

Ivan joined AvantFaire in October 2021 as an associate director in investor relationship management  and business development. He is currently focused on expanding AvantFaire’s operations in Singapore, through broadening the outreach of the firm’s product offerings to potential prospects with a focus on Singapore based clients, as well as forging partnership with entities for impact investing initiatives in the region.

Ivan has more than 6 years of experience across banking and asset management. He spent 4 years at Citibank as a product specialist across various asset class and products. He was actively involved in corporate ESG initiatives, including promotion of paperless process for green banking operation and organising firm wide events such as Global Community Day and International Women’s Day. At Lion Global Investors, he was involved in new fund launches including a thematic real estate series with an ESG overlay to encourage investors to invest in a more sustainable future. He also provided advices to clients on how ESG factors/considerations are integrated into the overall investment process and to use relevant, quantifiable and measurable metrics to reflect the positive impact creation through their investments.

Ivan is passionate about investing in green technology, including IoT integration, carbon neutrality, sustainable cities and electric vehicles. In his spare time, he volunteers at Earth Observatory of Singapore, a think tank that conducts research on earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis and climate change in Southeast Asia to help build safer and more sustainable societies. Ivan graduated from the National University of Singapore with a double major in Finance and Supply Chain Operations. He has also passed the CFA Level 2 exam.

Advisors

Alex Nicholls

Alex Nicholls

Professor of Social Entrepreneurship, University of Oxford

Professor Alex Nicholls is the first tenured professor in social entrepreneurship appointed at the University of Oxford and was the first staff member of the Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship in 2004. His research interests range across several key areas within social entrepreneurship and social innovation, including: social and impact investment; the nexus of relationships between accounting, accountability, and governance; public and social policy contexts; and Fair Trade.

To date Alex has published more than ninety papers, working papers, book chapters and articles and six books. Most appear in a wide range of peer reviewed journals and books, including five papers in Financial Times Top 30 journals. He is the General Editor of the Skoll Working Papers Series and the Editor of the Journal of Social Entrepreneurship.

Alex has held lectureships at a wide variety of academic institutions including: University of Toronto; Leeds Metropolitan University; University of Surrey; Aston Business School and the University of Oxford. Nicholls also sat on the regional social enterprise expert group for the South East of England and is a member of the Advisory Group for the ESRC Social Enterprise Capacity Building Cluster. He has been an Honorary Fellow at the Third Sector Research Centre at the University of Birmingham and a Research Fellow at the Centre for Social Impact, University of New South Wales. He also currently sits of the Board of several social enterprises.

Alex earned a BA (Hons), MA and PhD in English Language and Literature from King’s College, London and an MBA from Lady Margaret Hall, University of Oxford.

Richard Nesbitt

Professor of the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto

Mr. Richard Nesbitt is an Adjunct Professor of the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto, and chair of the Advisory Board of the Mind Brain Behavior Hive at the same University. Richard is now based in London, United Kingdom where he is working with the London School of Economics on the creation of a new research institute called The Inclusion Initiative at LSE dedicated to improving diversity and inclusion within industry.

Richard recently completed his tenure as CEO of Global Risk Institute in Financial Services, which is building a globally recognized research organization in the management of emerging risks.

Richard was previously the Chief Operating Officer of Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce until he retired from that position in September 2014. He joined CIBC in 2008 following his more than 20 years of experience in the securities industry which included CIBC Wood Gundy from 1987 to 1997. From 2004 to 2008 Richard was Chief Executive Officer of the Toronto Stock Exchange, having joined TSX as President of TSX Markets in 2001.

Richard, who serves on a variety of corporate and community boards, was recognized in 2014 by the organization Women in Capital Markets with its Visionary Award. He also received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for community service, the Arbor Award from the University of Toronto for his work with the school, and the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from Rotman School of Management.

In 2017 Richard published a book (with Barbara Annis) titled “Results at the Top” on the issue of men’s responsibility for gender diversity to improve their organizations (Wiley 2017). His new book (with Michael King) titled “Technological Innovation in Financial Services” will be available in early 2020 (UTP 2020).

Richard is an HBA graduate from the Ivey Business School at the University of Western Ontario and holds an MBA from the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto and a MSc from London School of Economics.

Maud Savary-Mornet

Founder and CEO of Beyong Finance Consulting Ltd.

Maud supports the GIIN with strengthening the impact investing community and building engagement with institutional investors in South East Asia. She brings over twenty-five years of experience in impact investment, international development and in the private and public sector to the GIIN.

Maud brings a track record of 12 years in ESG and impact investment in emerging economies. She grew successfully responsAbility in Asia Pacific, one of world’s leading asset managers in ESG and impact investments. She led the investment team in private debt in financial inclusion and climate finance for 8 years before becoming regional director of Asia Pacific with teams in Hong Kong, Mumbai and Bangkok. She conducted more than 100 due diligences in SME banks and microfinance institutions, closed multiple deals and opened several Asian countries for investment, ranging from Indonesia and China to Samoa in the Pacific Islands. She also developed a network of impact investors in Asia Pacific looking at private debt and private equity as well as capital market solutions.

Maud started her career at the French Central Bank as analyst in charge of the financial rating of SME and large corporates, being then seconded at the French Banking Commission to prepare and negotiate banking regulations and then posted at the French Trade Commission in Hong Kong.

Maud is a very strong supporter of Gender lens investing. She led the gender diversity initiative at responsAbility and worked extensively on a gender bond initiative for Asia Pacific.

French and Australian citizen, Maud graduated in 1991 from Sciences Po Paris, with a major in economics and finance. One of her personal goal is to open minds to sustainable finance and she is frequently invited to speak in conferences. She has published several articles on microfinance, impact investment and ESG. She also serves as advisor and Board member in several companies, networks and NGO, including Alygne Inc in California and the French Foreign Trade Advisors in Hong Kong.

 

 

Bénédicte Nolens

Head of Regulatory Affairs for Asia and Europe & CCO for Asia, Circle

Bénédicte is the Head of Regulatory Affairs for Asia and Europe & CCO for Asia for Circle, a Board Member of the Hong Kong Fintech Association and a Member of the Global Digital Finance Advisory Council. From 2012 to 2018 she was the Head of Risk and Strategy of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, from 2007 to 2012 she was a Managing Director at Credit Suisse, and before that she was an Executive Director at Goldman Sachs. She holds an LLM and MBA from the University of Chicago. In 2016 she was a recipient of the China Daily Asian Women Leadership Awards for people who are dedicated to entrepreneurialism, innovation and change.